Quick picks – the most popular databases
|Cochrane Library||EBSCOhost Web||HaPI||Impact Factor JCR||IPA|
|TOXLINE||UpToDate||Web of Science|
More details on the quick picks:
AccessMedicine - the search engine which helps you find matches based on the true meaning of the concepts detailed in the content.
BIOSIS Previews - Find the journal, meetings, books, and patents data you need to prepare research projects, grant proposals and follow trends in the life sciences.
CAB - Keep track of every area of agricultural science, veterinary medicine, nutrition and natural resources
CINAHL - Nursing and allied health journals, publications from the American Nurses’ Association and the National League for Nursing, dissertations, standards, legislation, videos and books. State nursing journals and nursing practice acts often available in fulltext.
Clinical Pharmacology - Full database that covers drugs, investigational drugs, herbal products, nutraceuticals and nutritional products.
Cochrane Library - Includes Best Evidence, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE).
EBSCOhost Web - EBSCOhost databases and discovery technologies are the most-used, premium online information resources for tens of thousands of institutions worldwide.
HaPI - HaPI provides rating scales, questionnaires, checklists, tests, interview schedules, and coding schemes/manuals for health and social sciences.”
Impact Factor JCR - JCR Science Edition contains data from over 5,900 journals in science and technology and JCR Social Sciences Edition contains data from over 1,700 journals in the social sciences.
IPA - Rx IPA includes journal articles, presentation abstracts from the American Pharmaceutical Association and the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, and all state pharmacy journals.
MD Consult - MDConsult has been phased out and replaced with a new product by the publisher Elsevier. The cost for the new product ClinicalKey is substantially more than our current subscription price for MDConsult. Given the Libraries’ ongoing budget constraints we will not be subscribing to this product and have opted instead to replace the more heavily used journal content. We are currently working with faculty on identifying the monographic content available that needs to be replaced. Please be assured that all the library liaisons and staff are available to work with you to ensure that we meet your information needs.
NCBI - A national resource for molecular biology information, which creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information.
ProQuest - ProQuest databases cover both sciences and social sciences. Includes articles, primary sources, dissertations and theses and more.
PsycINFO - Experimental psychology (human, animal, and comparative), psychosexual behavior, educational psychology, applied psychology, and sports psychology.
PubMed - Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the preclinical sciences, nutrition, delivery of health care, pharmacology, environmental health, pathology, toxicology, biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, and psychiatry.
SportDiscus - Sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, facilities and equipment.
STAT!Ref e-books - contains full textbooks including AHFS Drug Information and DrugPoints Information System. Resources include dosage and other calculators, along with other calculators and links to guidelines database.
TOXLINE - part of the TOXNET System. It indexes the journal literature along with reports, including some unpublished reports on subjects related to toxicology.
UpToDate - Evidence-based, peer reviewed clinical information. On campus and VPN access only – courtesy of the College of Medicine Office of Graduate Medical Education.
Web of Science - consists of 3 databases (in sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities) that cover journals or primary literature. They are: the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
LINK – this is a test link